A to Z Campus Map Directory
Athens State Logo
Current Students Faculty & Staff Tuition & Payments News Events Giving Human Resources Bookstore
Untitled Document
Board of Trustees > Members

Gov. Robert Bentley
Governor Bentley was elected as Governor of Alabama in 2010. Prior to becoming Governor, Dr. Bentley served two terms in the Alabama House of Representatives. Governor Bentley graduated from The University of Alabama School of Medicine. He was commissioned Captain in the United States Air Force. Upon completion of his military service, he completed his residency in Dermatology at UAB. Governor Bentley resides in Montgomery, AL.
Mr. Macke Mauldin

Mr. Mauldin has served as President of Bank Independent since 1996. He serves as Board Director for the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta (Birmingham Branch) and Director of the Southern Development Council, as well as a member of the Shoals Economic Development Authority. Mr. Mauldin is a 1982 graduate of Auburn University and resides in Florence.
Ms. Mary C. Dickens

Ms. Dickens is currently a Contract Executive in the Senior Executive Service within the Department of Defense at the US Army Contracting Command at Redstone Arsenal. Dickens has also served in various positions within the US Army Aviation and Missile Command. Dickens is a 1993 graduate of Athens State College and received her Master’s degree in Management & Contract Management from the Florida Institution of Technology. Ms. Dickens resides
in Meridianville.
Chancellor Mark Heinrich

Mr. Heinrich become chancellor of the Alabama Community College System on September 21, 2012. Heinrich holds a doctorate in counseling from The University of Alabama, and earned B.S. and M.A. degrees in psychology from Tennessee Tech University. During the time he was completing his graduate degree at The University of Alabama, Heinrich served on Coach Paul Bear Bryant’s staff as an academic counselor. Chancellor Heinrich resides in Tuscaloosa.
Ms. Crystal Brown

Ms. Brown is the Director of Business Development for the Decatur-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce. She currently serves on the board of directors for the Community Free Clinic of Decatur-Morgan County and as a volunteer for Decatur City Schools. Mrs. Brown is a 1985 graduate of the University of Alabama and a 2015 graduate of Leadership Alabama. Ms. Brown resides in Decatur, AL.
Mr. Garth Lovvorn

Mr. Lovvorn served as Area President of Bank Independent from 2006-2012. He retired in 2012 and is currently managing family farming interests in the Tennesee Valley and the Mississippi Delta. Lovvorn is a 1969 graduate of Athens State College, and a 1978 graduate of the LSU School of Banking of the South. Mr. Lovvorn resides in Athens.
Senator Arthur Orr

Senator Orr serves as Vice President and General Counsel for Cook’s Pest Control. He has previously served as a Country Director/Staff Attorney for Habitat for Humanity International and as an Educational Consultant for the United States Peace Corps. Orr received his Bachelor’s Degree from Wake Forest University in 1986 and is a 1989 graduate of the University of Alabama School of Law. Senator Orr resides in Decatur.
Ms. Maxine Randolph

Ms. Randolph is in management with Home Depot, Inc. She served as Store Manager for Lowe’s, Inc. for twelve years and as the Store Manager for Target. She has also served as Chairperson for the Greater Limestone County Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Randolph received a Bachelor’s Degree from Marian University. She resides in Elkmont, AL.
Mr. Clint Shelton

Mr. Shelton is the owner of Tennessee Valley Printing Co. which publishes The Decatur Daily and Times Daily in Florence. He has previously worked for The Raleigh News and Observer and the Waxahachie Daily Light. Shelton has served as board chairman of the United Way and Salvation Army. Shelton is a 1986 graduate of Washington and Lee University. Mr. Shelton resides in Decatur.
Mr. Tazewell T. Shepard

Mr. Shepard is a principal in law firm of Sparkman, Shepard & Morris in Huntsville, Alabama. Shepard currently serves as President of the Huntsville-Madison County Bar Association. Shepard is a 1979 graduate of the University of Alabama. Shepard resides in Huntsville.
Dr. Sandra Sims-deGraffenried

Dr. Sims-deGraffenried has an extensive career in public education leadership. For almost two decades she served as an advocate for public education as Executive Director of the Alabama Association of School Boards (AASB). Following her retirement from AASB, she was Associate Executive Director of the Alabama Nursing Home Association. She now serves as a consultant. Sims-deGraffenried earned her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Athens College in 1967 and 1970 respectively, and her Doctorate from Vanderbilt University in 1984. Dr. Sims-deGraffenried resides in Orange Beach.

Untitled Document

300 N. Beaty Street, Athens, AL 35611
Phone: (256) 233-8100

Stay Connected My.Athens.edu Athens State Online facebook Linked In
Google + you tube
Non-Discrimination Policy | Right to Know | Map/Directions | Contact Us
Web Privacy Statement | Copyright © 2014 Athens State University